Happenings.

by practiceradicallove

image

Life is sweet. We recently celebrated our first wedding anniversary! Hard to believe it has already been a year. We were up in Boone, NC with my family, and spent some time hiking and eating good food! I managed to score some Eastern NC peaches (blog namesake, heyo!) from my parents, as well as some really good honey, and some handspun yarn from the Boone Farmers Market. 

image

We stayed at our beloved Boone Cabin, which has been in our family since the 1930s! There’s no heat or air conditioning, but being up on the mountain takes care of all that.  There’s a beautiful creek behind it. So many memories come from this place…it’s the closest thing to magic for me.

image

image

We got to spend some time with my parents, my brother, my uncle, one of my cousins. Luckily, we were able to get a hike in before we left. We hiked the Boone Fork Trail, which is right off the Blue Ridge Parkway. Beautiful scenery, and a great workout!

image

After we got back home, I was able to have lunch with my cousin Evangeline before she moves off to Kentucky. I can always feel when I need some heart talks…my cousins are more like siblings to me, and we needed some time to talk, laugh, and cry together over a good cold beer and some yummy food.

image

image

Now I’m just enjoying one more day off before a string of night shifts…spending time with some knitting, of course! The top photo is the Mossy sweater…I’m finally finishing the sleeves so I can mail it off to my friend Mandy. I made it for her sweet little boy. The bottom photo is yarn for my husband…I’ve been promising him a hat for the longest time. I guess it’s time to deliver! The lighter gray is yarn from Hood River, OR. We got it on our honeymoon trip to Portland.  It came from Foothills Yarn, where you can hang out with alpacas! Fiber to yarn to garment….it’s a pretty awesome process if you ask me.

How’s that for a whirlwind update? Ciao for now!

