Fairy tales and spinning wheels.

by practiceradicallove

image

“Love is what carries you, for it is always there, even in the dark, or most in the dark, but shining out at times like gold stitches in a piece of embroidery.”

             -Wendell Berry, Hannah Coulter

For some reason, this quote sticks to my bones this morning. August 2nd marks one year of marriage to my amazing husband. Last week was 4 years of knowing him.  It really is amazing, the people you meet in a lifetime. Real life Prince Charmings who don’t swoop in from the shadows to save you from yourself, but to show you what your true potential is.  The dude is a saint; I mean, he has to be in order to put up with this yarn obsession o’ mine.

Speaking of yarn obsessions and Prince Charmings, my sweet husband bought me a spinning wheel. Bless, he has no idea what he’s in for.  It should arrive in several days, and I am literally spending every waking moment watching YouTube videos on how the heck to use it.  She’s a Schacht Ladybug, and I’m SO EXCITED! In the meantime, I’m still using my drop spindle, working through a beautiful braid of hand dyed merino. It’s really interesting to see how it spins up compared to how it looks while braided up. If you’ve never tried spinning, you totally should. My first attempts were comical, and now I’m completely obsessed.

I’m off to talk to some important folks about sedation protocols in mechanically ventilated patients… Hope you’re having a beautiful morning!

Rae